Fat Guy Eats @ Home – Italian Grilled Chicken Sandwiches

Several years ago Spageddies Italian Kitchen used to make an Italian Grilled Chicken Sandwich that was simply amazing and for some ridiculous reason they took it off the menu, never to be ordered again.

From that time on, we reinvented the sandwich at home and continue to make them to this very day.

I present to you the Fat Guy Eats Italian Grilled Chicken Sandwich.  (Click on the Pictures to Enlarge)

IGCS

Continue reading to find out how to make them…

Ingredients

1 Italian Loaf of Bread (already baked)
2 Grilled Chicken Breasts
Creamy Italian Dressing (you can use regular, I just prefer the creamy)
Mozzeralla Cheese
2 Roma Tomatoes
Brummel & Brown
Italian Seasoning
Garlic Powder or Minced Garlic

3 large potatoes (I used crinkle cut fries this time)
Lawry’s Seasoned Salt
Parmesan Cheese

The first step is to cook your chicken breasts.  If the weather is warm, I like to give them a quick season and throw mine on the charcoal grill outside.  Since it’s almost December, you can also saute in a pan on the stove.

(Side note:  whenever I grill any kind of meat, I always use Goya Adobo all purpose seasoning.  I highly recommend it)

While I am waiting on the chicken, I’ll go ahead and prepare the fries.

Now if I were preparing the potatoes true to the original Spageddies recipe, I would get three large potatoes (enough for two manly men).  I would wash them and make some thin potato slices, keeping the skin on the potatoes and deep frying them to a light golden color.  However, this time I went the lazy route and just grabbed some crinkle cut fries from the freezer and baked them in the oven at 425 until crisp (about 30 minutes.)  Trust me though, the homemade (deep fried) route is the best.

Once the fries are done, you want to dust them with grated Parmesan cheese and the Lawry’s seasoned salt.  (if you don’t have Lawry’s, regular or sea salt will do just fine)

step9

step10

Now back to the Sandwiches…

Once the chicken has been prepared and given some time to rest and cool down, put it down on the cutting board and slice it thin with a sharp knife.

Next, we prepare the Italian loaf.  I like split the loaf, hollow it out  and cut it into halves and smear some Brummel and Brown on the inside.
(Payless makes an awesome french loaf that I’ve used in the past, they partially bake the loaf and you finish baking at home)

step1

Then we want to season with some garlic powder and Italian seasoning.  Don’t go too crazy on the garlic powder, just a light sprinkle will do.

step2

Next we want to do a light sprinkle of mozzarella cheese.  Don’t worry, we’ll put on some more cheese in just a minute.

step3

Now we’re ready to put on the sliced chicken breast and Roma tomatoes.  I like the Romas because they’re a more meaty tomato and hold up a little better under the heat when we broil the sandwich.  Sprinkle some Parmesan cheese over the tomatoes.

step5

Now comes the Italian dressing.  Since Spageddies no longer makes this sandwich, I found it quite fitting to use their competitor’s Italian dressing.

step6

step7

And now we can sprinkle the final layer of mozzarella and put it under the broiler in the oven until the cheese melted.

step8

Tada!

out of broiler

Fold the sandwich over, slice in two and add more Italian dressing to complete.  Enjoy!

IGCS

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Fat Guy Eats @ Home – Italian Grilled Chicken Sandwiches

  1. Karen Anderson on said:

    Kevin This has nothing to do w/ your sandwich–looks good. I thought you would be happy to know that on my train ride home at Thanksgiving these 3 ladies & one gent were heaping praise on the Cracker Barrel Thanksgiving dinner and how they just love that place & the dinner was even better than home cooked. I thought of you & Jenn when I heard that one. Karen

Leave a Reply

