Belgian Waffle Cinnamon Rolls – Fat Guy Eats @ Home

So I was browsing the Interwebs the other day and came across this recipe for Waffle Cinnamon Rolls.  I am a fan of waffles and I am also a fan of Pillsbury Cinnamon Rolls, so I had to make it and find out if it was as good as it looks.

STEP 1:  Get Cinnamon Rolls.   Check!

  

STEP 2: Get out waffle iron, plug it in and turn it on.  Check!

STEP 3:  Once your waffle iron gets up to temperature, spray with some Pam.  You don’t want your cinnamon rolls to stick!  Just a light spray will do.  Check!

STEP 4:  Place rolls on waffle iron.  Check!

STEP 5: Close waffle iron.  Check!

Now it is time to wait… but don’t wait for too long, it doesn’t take long for these things to bake.

STEP 6:  Cover with icing and eat!  Check and Check!

  
My Final Verdict:

I think I may have errored on keeping them in the waffle iron about 60 seconds too long.  It only takes a couple of minutes for them to bake.  The first batch came out pretty crispy and some of you may really like that, but in my humble opinion, when it comes to cinnamon rolls, nothing beats that soft warm consistency of the bread when baked in the oven.  My second batch, I took out a little faster than the one before and I was pretty pleased with the outcome.  I’m not sure this would work as well with a standard waffle maker, so you might want to borrow someone’s Belgian waffle maker if you don’t have one.  As you can see, the icing fits perfectly in the big pockets of the waffles.  If you’re pressed for time in the morning and you’re craving some cinnamon rolls, this is a good option.  Overall, I would rate this 3.75 waffle irons out of 5 only because I think prefer the traditional baking method over the waffle iron.

Stay Hungry my Friends!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

