Buffalo Wild Wings – It’s All About the Sauces

West Lafayette, Indiana – Buffalo Wild Wings

Buffalo Wild Wings is the place my nephew and I meet on a weekly basis for lunch.  We’ve done this for years now and surprisingly neither of us seem to get tired of it very often.  There are times when we branch out and go somewhere else, but eventually we always come back.  You know it’s starting to get bad when the staff knows you and knows that you order almost the same exact thing every time you’re there.  So what keeps us coming back week after week?  Maybe it’s the atmosphere.  There are TV’s all over the place with nearly every sporting event or episode of Sports Center playing every direction that you look.


Maybe it’s the sauces.  I have to admit, this is what sets Buffalo Wild Wings apart from most other places.  I have ordered my fair share of wings at other restaurants, but none have been able to compare to the variety and uniqueness of Buffalo Wild Wings sauces.

According to their website, there are currently 16 different sauces on the menu.

  • Sweet BBQ
  • Teriyaki
  • Mild
  • Parmesan Garlic
  • Medium
  • Honey BBQ
  • Spice Garlic
  • Jammin’ Jalapeno
  • Asian Zing
  • Carribean Jerk
  • Thai Curry
  • Hot BBQ
  • Hot
  • Mango Habenero
  • Wild
  • Blazin

My top three favorites, in no particular order.  Spicy Garlic, Caribbean Jerk and Hot.

I will give honorable mention to Honey BBQ, but I never order it in favor of something a little more kick.

Let’s take a brief look at the lunch menu…

…and moving along now.

Today, my nephew and I ordered our most typical lunch selections in honor of the blog.  I got the Chicken Tenders with Buffalo Chips, Spicy Garlic and a side of Ranch.  Not everyone is a fan of Spicy Garlic, but it’s at the top of my list.  If you’ve not had it before, I would strongly recommend sampling or ordering it on the side before you fully commit.  It really packs a punch even though it’s really not that hot.  They pack a lot of garlic in there.  Most of these sauces should have a warning next to them, “Not Recommended for Date Night.”  I’m just throwing that out there.

My nephew ordered the Boneless Wings with Buffalo Chips, Asian Zing and a side of Ranch.  I, myself am not a fan of the Asian Zing.  It’s got that sweet / spicy thing going on.  I think it’s similar to the Mango Habenaro.  I must also mention that the Buffalo Chips are a worthy upgrade over the fries.  You can get them loaded with cheese and bacon, but we both enjoy them in the pure form, dipping them in Ranch every so often.

     

(Note the artistic closeups)

PRO TIP!  When ordering boneless wings or traditional wings, we like to order the wings “WET” if not, they are a little cheap on saucing the wings properly.

Final Thoughts…

Normally, I am a traditional wings guy all the way.  Even as I’m writing this now, I’m regretting the chicken tenders selection. I should have gone with traditional wings in this review.   However, I don’t believe you can fully enjoy traditional wings knowing that you’re going to have to return to work for the rest of the day.  Traditional wings should be celebrated and enjoyed at a slower pace.  You just have to dig in there and get your hands messy.  That’s part of the fun, I guess.  Every guy likes to return to that primal way of eating with your hands.  You might even catch me doing it at home when the wife isn’t looking.

Buffalo Wild Wings is without question my favorite local place for wings, other than The Fat Guy Eats Headquarters.  Other places may have larger or better quality traditional wings, but they don’t have the variety of sauces.  And that’s why I rate Buffalo Wild Wings 4 out of 5 chicken wings.

Stay Hungry My Friends!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Buffalo Wild Wings – It’s All About the Sauces

  1. Mango Habanero FTW!! It burns… but it’s a good burn. Mmmmm….

  2. Also if you ever get the chance-
    http://www.quakersteakandlube.com/

    Quaker Steak and Lube has delicious wings. Not if they are located any closer- but in Cincinnati we get them often. They are delicious- different than B-Dubs though. They are less breaded- more just deep friend and sauced. B-Dubs tends to have a lot of breading on their wings. Which is good or bad depending on what you like.

  3. Whoa… We’re going to Cincinnati here in a couple of weeks. We will definitely make sure that Quaker Steak and Lube is on the list!

Leave a Reply

