Free Lunch Tuesday! – Camille’s Sidewalk Cafe

So I debated whether or not this was food blog worthy. Basically, the deciding factor came down to the fact that the lunch was free. And when does food taste best? That right, when it’s free.

As a side note, from time to time there are free lunch opportunities at the office when they order too much. If I can get there before the rest of the herd, then it’s usually a win. If not, then you’re left with scraps or nothing at all.

Today’s lunch is brought to you by Camille’s Sidewalk Cafe. Normally, this is not a place I would visit on a regular basis. But I have been there with my wife a few times. As soon as you walk into the place, there is an over abundance of estrogen that fills the air. There is no question that Camille’s caters to the ladies. If you are a man and you are reading this, I would contrast the experience to the high testosterone levels found in a Buffalo Wild Wings or some other meat eating establishment. But because today’s lunch was catered and consumed within the confines of my office, we can subtract the affects of the ambiance and just review the experience based on taste.

I selected the Turkey Deluxe which according to Camile’s menu consists of sliced turkey breast, Swiss, lettuce, tomatoes, bacon-tomato dressing, mayo. The sandwich was well balanced with fresh ingredients and just the right amount of condiments. However, what really set this sandwich apart from the competition was the bacon-tomato dressing. It certainly gave the sandwich a greater appeal and the flavor really complimented the rest of the components. I’m sure the next time I make a turkey sandwich at home, I’ll add it into the mix. It was a definite win and not something I would normally think of adding to a sandwich. So, I applaud you Camille.

As you can see in the picture, it also came with tortilla chips and salsa. The chips were average to above average, nothing really special here to write about. The salsa, on the other hand, was very well done. It lacked any heat, but paired with this sandwich, I believe it’s perfectly acceptable. Any heat that would have been acquired from the salsa would have certainly masked the taste of the sandwich. The salsa wasn’t bland by any means, but there was nothing overpowering about it, which worked well.

What was not pictured and I do apologize, was their peanut butter cookie. Let me start off by saying it was really amazing. A good peanut butter cookie is hard to do. This was was thick, moist and contained peanut butter chips. If you are in search of a good peanut butter cookie fix, this will certainly do the trick. I would definite get one of these the next time I stop in at Camille’s.

Like I said, free is always good… I would rate this experience 4/5 bottles of bacon tomato dressing. The next time my wife wants to go here, I may actually give in so I can get another one of those peanut butter cookies.

Stay Hungry my Friends

http://www.camillescafe.com/

Camille's Cafe - Turkey Deluxe

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Free Lunch Tuesday! – Camille’s Sidewalk Cafe

  1. I want that cookie!!

Leave a Reply

