Hash House A Go Go – Twisted Farm Food

From the Archives… July 18th, 2012

While on vacation this summer we found this place on Trip Advisor, they were listed as one of the top places to go to in Las Vegas for Breakfast.  (There is a Chicago Location too)  A quick browse of the menu and I was hooked.  We had to go.

The Menu

As you can see, they serve a little bit of everything from hashes and eggs to pancakes and waffles.  In the lower right-hand corner, they have some “basic” items, but if you came for any of that, clearly you’ve come to the wrong place.

So let’s get down to bus’ness.  As the wife and I looked over the drink menu, we couldn’t resist getting a latte.    She got something with mint in it.  (gross)  And I ordered up the S’mores Latte based solely on the description and as you can see, I was not disappointed.

This was half latte, half ridiculous.  They drizzled chocolate all over the whole entire thing and dusted the top with cocoa powder.  As the waiter brought it out, I heard the Mission Impossible theme song in my mind.  “Your mission, if you choose to accept it, is to drink this crazy thing.  Your mind is about to explode in 3… 2… 1…”  First of all, there is no possible way to pick the cup up, which was really a soup bowl in disguise, without getting chocolate all over your hands.  I usually try to be clean when I eat, but it wasn’t going to happen today.  Below the chocolate was at least a half inch of molten lava marshmallow.  They had to have melted it with a small blow torch.  Even after the coffee was gone, there was still an enormous amount of marshmallow left at the bottom.  So we could have stopped there… but we didn’t.

I consider myself a connoisseur of chicken of the fried kind and when I saw Chicken and Waffles on the lunch menu, I couldn’t resist… especially when the waffles had bacon inside of them.

Menu Description – “Sage Fried Chicken stacked with our famous bacon waffle, hot maple caramel reduction and crowned with fried leeks”

If you’ve never heard of chicken and waffles, I feel sorry for you.  It’s definitely soul food.  Hash House’s version was a little gourmet… maybe even a little too much.  Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate a good presentation but the dish required a bit of disassembly before I could begin to enjoy it.  The leeks and the pepper garnish were pushed to the side so to not interfere with the magical goodness I was about to consume.  The chicken was good and well seasoned.  The waffles were crisp and the bacon was hidden in the middle.    The portion was without question enough for two people but I was up to the challenge.  Needless to say there was one waffle left behind.  Let’s have a moment of silence please.

……

I would rate Hash House A Go Go 4 waffles out of 5.  If you go, you’re going for the experience.  You certainly could not eat like this everyday, if you did, you would surely die.  Make sure you’re not wearing your Sunday Go-To-Meetin’ Clothes because I guarantee you’re going to get some on ya.  I would go back, but I would probably get something a little different.  Looking around the restaurant, there was definitely a lot of interesting things on people’s plates.  Portions seemed to be extremely generous as you can see in the pictures.

There are several locations, one of which is in Chicago.  The next time we’re in the Windy City we may just go go to Hash House A Go Go.

Locations

Stay Hungry My Friends!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

