Tony Sacco’s Coal Oven Pizza

Tony Sacco’s Coal Oven Pizza – Clay Terrace Shopping Mall, Carmel Indiana.

Other Locations

We were in Carmel Saturday night and I had remembered a new pizza place that I had read about a couple of months ago, Tony Sacco’s Coal Oven Pizza.  Now, I’ve heard a lot about wood fired pizza ovens, but never coal fired, so I was a bit intrigued.

IMG_2188

Continue Reading…

We had been out shopping for the better part of the day and realized that we hadn’t had anything to eat since lunch.  Like I said, I had remembered reading about this place and we were in the area so we decided to give it a try.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have my camera with me, so I had to use my cell phone.

restaurant front

We came in around 9:00 PM and the only other people in the restaurant was a family of 5 that looked like they had also been Christmas shopping.  The staff looked like they were winding down from a long night.  We were seated and looked over the menu.  They offered “Traditional” pizza where you could choose your own toppings as well as “Saccos Specialty Pizzas.”  Our go to pizza that we can always agree upon is Pepperoni and Mushrooms, unless we’re feeling a little adventurous.  So, we chose the Pepperoni Classico (Tomato sauce, fresh soft mozzarella and pepperoni) and of course we added mushrooms.

The pizza came out fairly quickly, as it should have since there was only one other family in the restaurant.

pizza

(click to enlarge)

I hadn’t even planned on doing a review, but the pizza was too good not to.  They finished the pizza by sprinkling some fresh basil on top and brushing the crust with garlic butter.  The pizza was thin crust, but not too thin.  It was light and chewy in the middle and more crisp as you got to the outside.  Since the pizza was baked in a coal oven, the crust had a hint of smokiness,  but it wasn’t overpowering at all.  We ordered the 16″ so we could have left over’s the next day.

Final Thoughts…

The pizza was really great.  We will definitely come back again.  I read on Facebook that they do an all-you-can eat pizza buffet for lunch, so that really sounds like the perfect time to come back so we can sample more of their other pizzas.  Overall, I would rate Tony Sacco’s a 4 out of 5 pepperoni’s.  The flavor was unique with the hint of smokiness in the crust.  The restaurant itself was warm and inviting and we had good service.  If you’re tired of the traditional pizza joints, I would definitely recommend that you give this a try if you’re ever in the area.

Stay Hungry my Friends!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Tony Sacco’s Coal Oven Pizza

  1. Sounds interesting and I like the idea of soft and crispy crust. I signed up for email promotions so will see what I get. Thanks for doing all the “leg work” for us!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

